The memorial museum was opened on the 28th of June in 2009. It gained the status of a National museum in October 2009. The exposition is on the ground floor of the building and was once used as a prison. There was a whole structure made up of related buildings at Bandery Street, 1. It was also an unofficial prison for political prisoners.
Only the first part of the exposition is active. It consists of three theme zones: the history of the building, household goods of the prisoners and the information about the mass executions by a firing squad at the end of June, 1941.
Visitors can go through the checkpoint, visit the prison cells, the office of the lead investigator and a photo lab. Some cells are used as small showrooms. Along the corridor walls there are some expo boards with the history of the building, last names of killed prisoners and official documents telling about the code of conduct in this prison.
A separate expo room is devoted to priest Mykola Khmiliovski (a head of the clandestine Ukrainian Greek Catholic Church) who served his prison sentence here. Visitors can learn about the life of the political prisoner from his criminal record.
The main part of the exposition is devoted to the most insanely gory days in the history of the prison – mass executions by a firing squad at the end of June, 1941. There is also a room where visitors can watch films about the condition of the prison building after the withdrawal of Russian troops at the end of June, 1941. In another room there are some Ukrainian newspapers with articles about the crimes of communist regimes.The memorial museum serves as a venue for numerous events —poetry readings, theme nights, etc. Every Sunday there is a film viewing sessions (visitors can watch and discuss a documentary).
© 2005-2022 karpaty.info
All rights reserved. No part of this site may be reproduced without our written permission.