Mineralogical Museum named after academician Y. K. Lazarenko
of Ivan Franko Lviv National University
The museum was founded in 1852-53 by a professor of natural history and botanist, Hiatsynt Lobazhevsky. The name of academician Yevhen Lazarenko was added to the title in 1999.
The local collection consists of over 14 000 specimens of minerals from geological formations around Ukraine and from other countires in Europe, Asia, Africa and Australia.
The unique mineral exhibits were brought from Transbaikalia, Volyn, Ural and Central Asia.
The permanent exhibition consists of four sections which represent the main areas of modern mineralogy:
Visitors can also see there the most recently discovered minerals (during the last few decades), some rare minerals and their varieties gathered from all around the country.
There are temporary exhibitions available — thematic and systematic ones, or dedicated to famous events and dates. The example of those is a mini exhibition 'Meteorites' (opened in 1999), where visitors can see various meteorite specimens from around the world. The exhibition is supplemented with information stands, from which you will learn more about the mineral composition, structural and textural features of meteorites.
The museum is not only an important scientific or educational facility, it's also a place where geological and mineralogical science is being popularized.
Free of charge.
Groups are welcomed by prior arrangement.
10:00-15:00, Saturday, Sunday — days off.
M. Hrushevsky St., 4 (2nd floor, rooms 211-214)
Tel.: +38 (032) 239-47-00
How to get there:
The museum is located in the city centre. Go up M. Drahomanov street from the monument to Mykhailo Hrushevsky. The museum is up the road, on the left.