The museum is situated in the historic part of Uzhgorod city, at the Southern slope of the Castle Hill, nearby the ancient castle. It is one of the first open-air museums in Ukraine, opened in 1970, June 27.
The museum exposition was planned as a geographic map of Transcarpathian region. From the West to the East one can see the lodges and houses of different districts of the region and of various ethnic groups — Lemky, Boyky, Hutsuls and, also, lodges of local Hungarians and Romanians.
The museum exposition houses 7 lodges, 6 houses, a church, a bell tower, a school, a blacksmith's shop, a mill, a tavern.
The wooden church (1777) from Shelestovo village of Mukacheve district is worth special attention. It is one of two original churches of Lemky architecture in Ukraine. The church is a classical example of combination of two styles in folk architecture — that of tent-shaped churches and Baroque style.
In its interior the 4-level iconostasis is of great interest. It is a unique example of folk icon painting of XVII–XVIII с.
The museum exposition houses the treasures of folk culture, masterpieces of folk architecture and folk masters — carpenters, coopers, potters, woman weavers, embroiderers — the true artists with inborn talent and imagination.
9:00–17:00, closed on Tuesday.
Adults — 35 UAH.
Students — 20 UAH.
Children — 10 UAH.
By public transport
Go by train or by bus to Uzhgorod town, then from the railway or bus station go by taxi. The museum is situated nearby the Uzhgorod Castle.
Detailed information about public transport.
Go to Uzhgorod town along the road E-50, then go towards the town centre. The museum is situated nearby the Uzhgorod Castle.