The museum was opened 28 September, 1995. The exposition takes five rooms of the local administrative building. The local exhibits represent the cultural and educational activities of the Lepky family, who lived in Zhukiv from 1891 till 1901.
Bohdan Lepky, the father of Silvester Lepky, was a remarkable historical figure, also known as Marko Murava, a priest and the first person in Galicia translated Shakespeare's plays into Ukrainian. Together with that, he was famous for his spiritual songs and activism in 'Prosvita' (educational society of a huge importance). Silvester Lepky was the author of such books as 'The Book of Sorrow' (poems) and 'It's Burning' (short stories).
The exposition contains unique photographs and documents that represent the family history, in particular the history of Sylvester's sons (Bohdan, Mykola, Levko) as well as the others.
The museum was founded by a local teacher, ethnographer and composer Vasyl Podufaly. After his death the place is managed by his wife Darya and daughter Mariya, who both are theachers in the local school.