Przeworsk County

Przeworsk County (Pol. powiat przeworski) is one of 21 land counties in Subcarpathian Voivodeship, Poland. The county covers an area of 698.4 km², its total population is over 78,000 people, the population density is 112.7 p/km². Its administrative centre is Przeworsk. Przeworsk County was formed on January 1, 1999 as a result of an administrative reform.

Przeworsk County geographically has a shape of a strap that extends from Dynów Highlands (south-west) to Tarnogrodzki Plateau (north-east). Such peculiarity of the geographical location of the county led to the diversity of the local relief: it varies from vast lowlands of the ancient Sandomierz Forest to the hill ridge in Przeworsk and Dynów Highlands. Two largest rivers of Subcarpathian Voivodeship, San and Vitsula rivers, run across the county. The county is characterized by frequent changes of weather conditions, meanwhile the index of solar energy that is annually received by county is one of the highest in Poland.

There are many monuments of sacred architecture in Przeworsk County. In particular there are three wooden churches in the villages of Nowosielce, Rudka, Siennów, built in the XVIIth-XVIIIth centuries. One of the oldest sacred complexes of the county is Church of the Bernardine Order, founded in 1461 in the town of Przeworsk, preserved till today. Pastewnik Skansen is another popular destination among tourists in Przeworsk, where one can get acquainted with the historical and architectural heritage of Przeworsk County and Subcarpathia in general. For those who enjoy mountain tourism there operates Arłamów ski lift in Kańczuga (previously Arłamów).

Worth seeing:

Wooden and Catholic churches

  • Parochial church of St. Mary Magdalene (1595), Nowosielce
  • Greek Catholic church dedicated to the Ascension of the Blessed Virgin Mary (1693), Rudka
  • All Saints church (1676), Sieniawa

Sacred architecture and cemeteries

  • Church of the Assumption of Blessed Virgin Mary (1877-1894), Gać
  • St. Michael the Archangel church (XVIIth century), Kańczuga
  • St. Catherine's church (1881-1882), Manasterz
  • Basilica of the Holy Spirit (1430-1473), Przeworsk
  • Tomb of Jesus Christ Chapel (1692), Przeworsk
  • Chapel of the Sisters of Charity (1780), Przeworsk
  • Church of Virgin Mary 'Maria Sniezna' (1768-1780), Przeworsk
  • Church of St. Barbara (XVth-XVIth centuries), Przeworsk
  • Church of the Bernardine Order (1461), Przeworsk
  • Jewish cemetery (XVIIth century), Sieniawa
  • Church of the Assumption of Blessed Virgin Mary (1719-1751), Sieniawa
  • Church of John the Baptist (1753), Sieniawa


  • Fragments of the defensive walls (XVIth century), Przeworsk
  • Ruins of the defensive walls (1664-1680), Sieniawa


  • Dzieduszycki Palace(1817-1819), Zarzecze
  • Palace and Park Complex of the Lubomirski Family (XVIIIth-XIXth centuries), Przeworsk
  • Palace and Park Complex of the Czartoryski Family (XVIIIth century, 1881-1883), Sieniawa
  • Turnauów Palace (1887), Urzejowice

Other sights of history and architecture

  • Building of the People's University (1935-1936), Gać
  • Building of the former taxation agency (1900), Przeworsk
  • Building of an old post station and starostat (1905), Przeworsk
  • Town Hall (XVth-XVIIth centuries), Przeworsk
  • Tatar Tumulus (XVIIth century), Przeworsk
  • Sugar factory (1895), Przeworsk
  • Town Hall (XVIIth century, 1948), Sieniawa
  • Granary (XVIIIth century), Tryńcza


  • Skansen Pastewnik; Przeworsk, Łańcucka St. 2